Negotiating The Last Paycheck of Your Life | Let's Buy a Business

 

 

Heyo,

Gonna start off with a quote that hit me hard this week. 

You don’t get in life what it is you want. 

You get in life what it is that you are. You only have the level of success in any area of your life that equals your level of self-worth. 

If you want to know why the fruit is bad, don’t blame the fruit. Study the roots. You are the roots of all your fruits. 

When you get better, everything gets better.  

When you grow, everything around you grows. You are the center of your universe. 

 - Darren Hardy.

Darren is the author of lots of books, such as The Compound Effect. He’s a world-class coach in all areas. 

He’s got a daily email called Darren Daily with a 3-5 min video. It’s awesome and one of the few I get daily. They expire after three days. 

I’ve had two thoughts in my brain the last week that I can’t shake. 

Buying, Owning, and operating businesses it’s so hard. Like crazy hard. Like I lost a bunch of sleep the past two weeks. 

Personal Guarantees are real. 

But on the flip side, entrepreneurship and ownership can be so worth it

I was a terrible employee. Not cause I didn’t know what to do or how to do it. I just didn’t fit the mold, play the song and dance, play the office politics, or want to have a normal schedule. 

It bothered me when people kissed up and got more regardless of the results. 

I wanted accountability for my actions. I wanted the upside and downside of my decisions. It made me feel alive. 

It’s not for everyone. It’s so stressful at times. So rewarding at times. 

That’s ok if it’s not for you. Just run your race. 

 

 

How to Buy Your First Small Business through Acquisition Entrepreneurship

 

 

Negotiating The Last Paycheck of Your Life

Sooner or later, you’ll find yourself negotiating the last paycheck of your life OR more likely sooner, you’ll be negotiating against someone who is negotiating their last paycheck of their life.

 

This Week’s Exciting Deals

1. BANK PREAPPROVED-Roofing Contractor $ 2,538,000 Income /year

Asking: $3.8 M

Revenue: $4.8 M

Cashflow: $2.5 M

Big accounts, big jobs, low mulitple. Seems like a great business on the outside but the things I'd look for....

"Owner currently works 40 hours/week; performs day-to-day management, Sales or marketing"

That means they do everything and are exceptionally efficient. Probably take you 120 hours/week to replicate this. 

What does 'all-Union workers' mean in the state of IL mean?

It's stated like a good thing but doesn't sound good to me. 

Why only a 1.5x? (Could be industry, could be the seller wants out)

 

2. Profitable & Long-Established Equipment Dealership in Pacific NW

Asking: $5.5 M

Revenue: $11 M

Income: $1.3 M

They sell, rent, and service new and used compact equipment (Loaders, Excavators, Tractors, Etc...). Multiple is too high but SBA options, 12 employees with manager in place, 

This is a super hard business. Could be highly profitable BUT....

The thing I like the most is you can have regional dominance. :)

It's hard to compete at htis level unless you live there. Your competitors aren't some dude living in his parent's basement being ok with 2% margins.

Click Here To View The Listing »

 

3. SBA Pre-Qualified: FBA Business | Money-Counting Machines | 44% SDE Growth | $625K SDE

Asking Price: $2.1 M

Revenue: $1.8 M

Income: $625K

**This is my listing as a broker. 

SBA financeable and a great opportunity for someone who has FBA experience. Probably too large to bite off if you are new to Amazon FBA imo. 

Questions I would ask the seller is around electronics and how handle electronics components. And focuse on growth opportunities outside of Amazon FBA too. 

And the short history of business ownership. The business was bought in Jan 2023 but other businesses have 5x'd and are pulling the owners in other directions. 

 

 

Featured Content

 

How to Delegate The Right Way | EP 349 - The Sweaty Startup